Make us your homepage


The Cups

Davis, Fed, and Hopman Cups

Who says tennis isn't a team sport?

Throughout the year, players on the ATP circuit and WTA Tour enter tournaments, jockey for position in the worldwide rankings, and collect plenty of prize money when they succeed. The competition is intense - you have to maintain your focus, drive, and commitment if you want to be World No. 1. But there are three events each year where individual goals and achievements are put aside, and the sacrifice for national glory takes center stage.

The International Tennis Federation's annual Davis Cup (men), Fed Cup (women), and Hopman Cup (mixed teams) competitions showcase tennis stars representing their countries, facing off for the sport's top annual team prizes. In Team Cup competition there is just one agenda: win for your country.

Davis Cup

The Davis Cup is men's tennis' annual international team competition. In 1900 Dwight F. Davis, a student on the Harvard tennis squad, wanted to match the skills of four members of his team against a team from Britain.

1st round(s) – Feb 8-10
Semifinals – Sep 19 - 21
Final – Nov. 21-23
Fed Cup

The international team competition in women's tennis, Fed Cup, was inaugurated as the "Federation Cup" to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation in 1963.

1st round(s) – Feb 2-3
Semifinals – April 26-27
Final – Sept 13-14
Hopman Cup

The Hopman Cup is the newest of the three-team events and is held over one week in Perth, Australia. Eight teams of one man and one woman compete in a singles and mixed doubles format. Among the Hall of Fame teams that have competed  for the Hopman Cup are John McEnroe and Pam Shriver, plus Boris Becker and Steffi Graf.

Date – Dec. 29 - Jan. 4