What is the Hall of Fame?
History of the Hall of Fame
The Tennis Hall of Fame at the Newport Casino, site of the first U.S. National Championships in 1881, was founded by tennis innovator James Van Alen in 1954 as "a shrine to the ideals of the game." The Tennis Hall of Fame was officially sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association in 1954 and was recognized by the International Tennis Federation in 1986. Over the last ten years, the Hall of Fame complex and Museum have been restored to their original splendor with the 1997 completion of a five-year, $7.5 million renovation and endowment project.
The Hall of Fame Museum
Built in 1880 by the firm of McKim, Mead and White, the Museum's galleries chronicle the rich history of tennis through interactive exhibits, dynamic videos, and popular memorabilia from historic champions and the superstars of today. Dramatically set in the original club rooms of the Casino, visitors of all ages delight in Stanford White's architectural detail as well as the state-of-the-art gallery experience. In Enshrinee Hall, plaques commemorate the great players, coaches, administrators, and writers who have been inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame.
Admission, Hours and Group Tours
The International Tennis Hall of Fame and Museum welcomes visitors from 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily except Thanksgiving and Christmas. Admission is $10 for adults; $8 for seniors, members of the armed services or students with ID; $5 for children under 16; and $25 for a family. Group tours for 15 or more may be arranged by calling the Tour Coordinator at 401.849.3990. Special group-discount rates are available.
The International Tennis Hall of Fame and Museum is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization supported through contributions from private individuals and corporations in conjunction with membership support.