Make us your homepage

 

The Tennis Channel To Telecast From 2004 US Open

LOS ANGELES, August 30, 2004

The Tennis Channel, a 24-hour cable television network devoted to tennis and other racquet sports, will launch a nightly compilation of post-match press conferences from the US Open in Flushing, N.Y., beginning this week. The hour-long Court Report will consist of player media interviews from earlier that day, and is scheduled to premiere Tuesday, Aug. 31, at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT., immediately following USA Networks’ broadcast of the afternoon competition. The announcement was made today by Bruce Rider, executive vice president, programming and marketing, The Tennis Channel.

The Tennis Channel will show Court Report a second time that evening, at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT, and again the following morning at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT. This pattern will be repeated every day during the tournament, which runs through Sunday, Sept. 12.

“It’s important for The Tennis Channel to communicate relevant, for-the-record information to our viewers on a regular basis,” said Rider. “To that end Court Report is our most wide-reaching project so far, and we’re excited about the daily focus we’ll have on the US Open press room.”

Court Report will package the day’s more memorable press-room appearances into one program, creating in essence a “press conference digest” of significant quotes and questions throughout the tournament. Each evening, tennis fans will have the chance to quickly ascertain players’ outlooks and reactions to the day’s most exciting matches. The nightly program offers a story of this year’s US Open through the words of the players, via the network’s press-conference eye.

“We are pleased to add The Tennis Channel to our team of broadcasters,” said Pierce O’Neill, chief business officer, United States Tennis Association. “The Tennis Channel’s devotion to tennis is right in sync with our mission to promote and develop the growth of tennis, and the network’s broadcast for the 2004 US Open will provide fans with the additional insight and action they are looking for.”

The Tennis Channel also unveiled plans to provide exclusive telecasts of both the US Open Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ championship matches. Not traditionally televised, both finals will air Monday, Sept. 13, beginning with the girls’ final at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The boys’ championship match follows, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

Whatever the championship match-ups, both are likely to feature tomorrow’s rising stars. There are several noteworthy entrants in both the boys’ and girls’ fields this year. Perhaps chief among these is France’s Gael Monfils, the 18-year-old winner of this year’s Australian, French and Wimbledon titles, who looks to complete the single-year Grand Slam with a win in Flushing. Fifteen-year-old left-hander Donald Young is also competing, and is America’s most talked about young talent. Others include Scoville Jenkins, ranked No. 7 among world juniors, and Alex Kuznetsov, a 2004 French Open finalist. Both live in the United States.

The girls’ junior tournament features the Czech Republic’s 15-year-old Nicole Vaidisova, who, as an unseeded entrant, won her first WTA Tour title in Vancouver earlier this month. Three of the tournament’s other 15-year-olds have also found success this summer. Julia Cohen is the United States’ top-ranked junior, while Dutch junior Michaella Krajicek has already been ranked No. 1 in the world, and is the younger sister of 1996 Wimbledon champion Richard Krajicek. And Bulgaria’s Sesil Karatantcheva staked her tennis claim with this year’s junior French Open title, and comes to the US Open juniors ranked sixth in the world.

Two of these players, Young and Vaidisova, were featured in Phenoms, a special presentation The Tennis Channel produced and ran earlier this summer.

The Tennis Channel ( www.thetennischannel.com ) is the cable television network devoted to tennis and other racquet sports, and provides unparalleled coverage of the game, its elite championships and its superstar athletes. The network’s comprehensive coverage includes telecasts of the US Open Series, ATP Masters Series, top-tier WTA Tour championship competitions, Davis Cup by BNP Paribas, Fed Cup and Hyundai Hopman Cup. The Tennis Channel also showcases instruction from the finest teachers, legendary matches, in-depth profiles of the greatest players, analysis and news, the latest on equipment, and tennis getaways.

For Further information:
Eric Abner, Tennis Channel, 310-314-9445 or eabner@tennischannel.com